Free Spirit Tank

This was a quick sew with my serger, otherwise  known as Miss O. I had hoped it would be a tank dress that I could wear in Chicago in a couple weeks but it’s a bit too short for me and I had no extra fabric. Unless I get creative adding length, it will be some sort of tank top.

Fabric is from Girl Charlee and has been in my stash for at least a year. My color this year is definitely pink. I want everything pink. And of course, what looks great with pink, orange. Yes, I love pink and orange. Good thing I have orange labels.


This pattern is from Patterns for Pirates. This is last years tank which I never made. They have a new one, just released, called The Essential Tank and I do think that both of these need to be in everyone’s collection of patterns. Easy makes for everyday wear.

There are just 2 pieces for the pattern, plus the neck and armhole bindings. I combined 2 sizes, grading to a larger size for the hips. 😑

I wish everyone that sews could have a serger and a coverstitch machine. My big love is topstitching and coverstitching is topstitching.

It’s a tone on tone stripe. I have no idea of the cost but it was very inexpensive. Fabric was easy to sew with.  I still want a pink dress though…

This is a pattern that I believe will be used over and over for summer wear. The pattern has several hem options and also a racer back tank option. That would be great with athletic fabric to work-out in.

That sounds like it could be my project for tomorrow.

I loved making this top with Miss O.

Leave a Reply

