Sunday morning. 

Hello anybody. It’s been a long long time since posting anything. Sewing has not been high on my list of things to do. 

Since writing, I have survived breast cancer, surgery, chemo, then radiation. Recovery takes awhile, I am back at work and trying to get my world back to normal, a new normal anyway. 

My 8 year old grandson has spent the night and he is still sleeping. I have spent the morning drinking coffee on my patio and enjoying the sunshine before the anticipated storm arrives. 


Ingredients for buttermilk waffles is awaiting the boy to awake. I recall the first time a few years ago when he watched grandma make waffles. He had a quizzical look as I didn’t go to the freezer to pull out a box of frozen waffles. He learned that day that grandma makes waffles “from scratch”. It was a term he took home with him as he was impressed grandma made things “from scratch”. It’s a funny term when you think about it. 

Today I am trying a new recipe and anxious to hear his opinion. 


He will watch me cook these up as he enjoys telling me when they are ready. He watches the steam and doesn’t want me to watch. He’ll let me know! Homemade waffles and homemade syrup too. 


I set the counter up for him, I know he doesn’t get this at home. Do you think he enjoys this? I know he does! Just for him! 

I am planning on a few more recipes today. He told me yesterday his favorite meal is spaghetti. This is new as he has been somewhat of a picky eater. 

One thing I have never made is homemade pasta. Perfect. My KitchenAide came with a pasta attachment so I plan to see how it does. 


I hope everyone enjoys their Sunday! 

2 thoughts on “Sunday morning. 

  1. Janice, you are a strong beautiful lady and it is good that you are enjoying some of life’s small pleasures; they are the best kind. I pray that your world continues to normalize.

    Like

  2. Janice, your morning sounds delightful! Little by little you are getting more energy and more interest in “life”. It does take a really long time. It took me about 3 years (but I’m 80 so you should come back faster), but I finally am sewing and embroidering and making jewelry again. I even went to Home Depot the other day, and that takes ENERGY. So hang in there … it does come back. Enjoy every minute you can with those grands … they don’t wait for you to get better. They just keep on growing … which helps you keep on going.

    It’s so good to read your post … you sound upbeat about today (well, yesterday). And your patio view looks delightful. What part of the country do you live in? I gave up on potted plants … impossible to keep them watered enough in the heat of the summer .. 100’s.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment